The 2018 Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway were handed out this evening to recipients in 19 categories, with three honorary awards also bestowed. The Lortel Awards were distributed in a ceremony at NYU Skirball Center hosted by Meteor Shower co-stars Laura Benanti and Jeremy Shamos. This year's event was once again a benefit for The Actors Fund. 

Award presenters this year included some of the biggest and brightest stars from stage and screen, including: Jelani Alladin, Lauren Ambrose, Mike Birbiglia, Adam Chanler-Berat, Brandon Victor Dixon, Michael Esper, Tina Fey, Santino Fontana, Denise Gough, Michael Greif, Harry Hadden-Paton, Marg Helgenberger, Marilu Henner, Erika Henningsen, Joshua Henry, Grey Henson, Lisa Howard, Joshua Jackson, Carol Kane, Andy Karl, LaChanze, Katrina Lenk, Taylor Louderman, Kristin Maldonado, Beth Malone, Lindsay Mendez, Patti Murin, Paul Alexander Nolan, Orfeh, Ashley Park, Zachary Quinto, Andrew Rannells, Condola Rashad, Patricia Richardson, Lauren Ridloff, Kate Rockwell, Will Roland, Tony Shalhoub, J. Smith-Cameron, Phillipa Soo, Ari’el Stachel, Nathan Stewart-Jarrett, and Barrett Wilbert Weed. 

The Off-Broadway League’s Lortel Awards Producing & Administration Committee (Pamela Adams, Terry Byrne, Margaret Cotter, Carol Fishman, George Forbes, Danielle Karliner Naish, Michael Page, Catherine Russell, Lindsey Sag, Seth Shepsle, and Casey York) produces the Lortel Awards Ceremony. Acclaimed writer/director Michael Heitzman returns to direct the Lortel Awards for the ninth consecutive year. The Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation. Additional support is provided by TDF. 

Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors’ Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, in addition to theatre journalists and academics and other Off-Broadway professionals, serve on the Voting Committee. 

2018 Nominees & Recipients

*Denotes Winner

2018 Nominations by Category2018 Nominations by Show | 2018 Recipients by Show

2018 Nominations by Category

Outstanding Play (Tie)

*Cost of Living 
Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club in association with Williamstown Theatre Festival
Written by Martyna Majok

Miles for Mary 
Produced by Playwrights Horizons 
Written by Marc Bovino, Joe Curnutte, Michael Dalto, Lila Neugebauer, and Stephanie Wright Thompson

Produced by Lincoln Center Theater
Written by Dominique Morisseau

*School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play 
Produced by MCC Theater 
Written by Jocelyn Bioh

The Treasurer 
Produced by Playwrights Horizons 
Written by Max Posner

 Outstanding Musical

Bella: An American Tall Tale 
Produced by Playwrights Horizons 
Book, Music, and Lyrics by Kirsten Childs

Desperate Measures 
Produced by The York Theatre Company in association with Cecilia Lin and Hu Guo 
Book and Lyrics by Peter Kellogg, Music by David Friedman

Hundred Days 
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop 
By The Bengsons and Sarah Gancher

Jerry Springer - The Opera 
Produced by The New Group 
Music and Lyrics by Richard Thomas 
Book and Additional Lyrics by Stewart Lee and Richard Thomas

Produced by Ars Nova in association with Ma-Yi Theater Company and Woodshed Collective 
Conceived by Woodshed Collective and Jason Kim 
Book by Jason Kim, Music and Lyrics by Helen Park and Max Vernon, Immersive Design by Woodshed Collective

Outstanding Revival

Fucking A 
Produced by Signature Theatre 
Written by Suzan-Lori Parks

In The Blood 
Produced by Signature Theatre 
Written by Suzan-Lori Parks

*Jesus Hopped The 'A' Train 
Produced by Signature Theatre 
Written by Stephen Adly Guirgis

The Government Inspector 
Produced by Red Bull Theater 
Adapted by Jeffrey Hatcher from Revizor by Nikolai Gogol

Torch Song 
Produced by Second Stage Theater in association with Richie Jackson 
Written by Harvey Fierstein

Outstanding Solo Show

*Harry Clarke
Produced by Vineyard Theatre in association with Audible 
Written by David Cale 
Performed by Billy Crudup

Who's Holiday! 
Produced by Whoville Theatrical, Scott and Jenny Beck, Jason Shaw, Ken Fakler, Drew Desky/Dane Levens, Darren Bagert 
Written by Matthew Lombardo 
Performed by Lesli Margherita

Outstanding Director

Lileana Blain-Cruz, Pipeline

Michael Greif, The Low Road

*Anne Kauffman, Mary Jane

Lila Neugebauer, Miles for Mary

Leigh Silverman, Harry Clarke

Outstanding Choreographer 

Camille A. Brown, Bella: An American Tall Tale

Bill Castellino, Desperate Measures

Byron Easley, X: Or, Betty Shabazz v. The Nation

*Sonya Tayeh, The Lucky Ones

Jennifer Weber, KPOP

Sean Carvajal, Jesus Hopped The ‘A’ Train

Peter Friedman, The Treasurer

Chukwudi Iwuji, The Low Road

Namir Smallwood, Pipeline

Michael Urie, Torch Song


Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play

Quincy Tyler Bernstine, The Amateurs

MaameYaa Boafo, School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play

*Carrie Coon, Mary Jane

Cristin Milioti, After the Blast

Karen Pittman, Pipeline

 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play 

Marc Bovino, Miles for Mary

Edi Gathegi, Jesus Hopped The ‘A’ Train

*Gregg Mozgala, Cost of Living

Paul Sparks, Edward Albee's At Home at the Zoo: Homelife and The Zoo Story

John Tufts, Pride and Prejudice

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play 

Vanessa Aspillaga, Amy and the Orphans

Quincy Tyler Bernstine, As You Like It

Liza Colón-Zayas, Mary Jane

*Mirirai Sithole, School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play

Katy Sullivan, Cost of Living

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical

*Damon Daunno, The Lucky Ones

Steven Eng, Pacific Overtures

Terrence Mann, Jerry Springer – The Opera

Wade McCollum, Ernest Shackleton Loves Me

James Seol, KPOP

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical 

Abigail Bengson, Hundred Days

Ashley D. Kelley, Bella: An American Tall Tale

Julia Knitel, A Letter to Harvey Milk

Lauren Molina, Desperate Measures

*Ashley Park, KPOP

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical 

Sean Patrick Doyle, Jerry Springer – The Opera

Brandon Gill, Bella: An American Tall Tale

Paolo Montalban, Bella: An American Tall Tale

Thom Sesma, Pacific Overtures

*Jason Tam, KPOP

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical 

Vanessa Kai, KPOP

*Tiffany Mann, Jerry Springer – The Opera

Maryann Plunket, The Lucky Ones

Myra Lucretia Taylor, The Lucky Ones

Adina Verson, The Lucky Ones

Outstanding Scenic Design 

Gabriel Hainer Evansohn, KPOP

Anna Fleischle, Hangmen

Laura Jellinek, Mary Jane

Amy Rubin, Miles for Mary

*Louisa Thompson, In The Blood

Outstanding Costume Design 

Dede M. Ayite, Bella: An American Tall Tale

*Dede M. Ayite, School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play

Tricia Barsamian, KPOP

Tilly Grimes, The Government Inspector

Emily Rebholz, The Low Road

Outstanding Lighting Design

*Alan C. Edwards, Harry Clarke

Bradley King, The Treasurer

Ben Stanton, The Low Road

Japhy Weideman, Mary Jane

Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew, KPOP

Outstanding Sound Design

Mikhail Fiksel, The Treasurer

*Leah Gelpe, Mary Jane

Bray Poor, The Last Match

Bray Poor, Office Hour

Brandon Wolcott, After the Blast

 Outstanding Projection Design

Lucy Mackinnon, After the Blast

Alexander V. Nichols, Ernest Shackleton Loves Me

Brad Peterson, The Stone Witch

*Hannah Wasileski, Pipeline

Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew, Relevance

Lifetime Achievement Award

Eve Ensler

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee

Michael Friedman   

Outstanding Body of Work

WP Theater