The 2012 Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway were handed out this evening to recipients in 14 categories and 4 special honors. Some of the best in New York theatre came out to NYU Skirball Center and the Rosenthal Pavilion to celebrate Off-Broadway and benefit the Actors Fund. A complete list of the nominees and winners follows.

The show began with a rousing dance number and a hilarious opening monologue from host Mario Cantone, the celebrated New York stage actor and stand-up comedian. Lortel Award recipients for Outstanding Alternative Theatrical Experience, Voca People, performed a high-energy version of “The History of Music”; The Broadway Boys thrilled with a medley of some of the greatest songs from Broadway musicals that began their journey Off-Broadway, including “Beautiful City” from Godspell, “Seasons of Love” from Rent and Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believin’” from Rock of Ages; and Tony® Award winner Laura Benanti brought the house down with a performance of “Something Good” from The Sound of Music, in honor of Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, producer Richard Frankel.

Presenters at this year’s Lucille Lortel Awards included some of the best and brightest from the New York stage and screen: Alexis Bledel, Christian Borle, Michael Cerveris, Will Chase, Anna Chlumsky, Oliver Chris, Hugh Dancy, Paige Davis, Tate Donovan, Halley Feiffer, Steve Guttenberg, Rose Hemingway, Steve Kazee, Celia Keenan-Bolger, Fran Kranz, Lucy Liu, Constantine Maroulis, Cristin Milioti, Patrick Page, Annie Parisse, Sarah Paulson, Condola Rashad, Jeremy Shamos, Michelle Trachtenberg and Josh Young.

Outstanding Play 
Blood and Gifts - Produced by Lincoln Center Theater; Written by J. T. Rogers 

Milk Like Sugar - Produced by Playwrights Horizons and Women's Project Theater; Written by Kirsten Greenidge 

Sons of the Prophet - Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company; Written by Stephen Karam  

The Big Meal - Produced by Playwrights Horizons; Written by Dan LeFranc 

The School For Lies - Produced by Classic Stage Company; Written by David Ives 

Outstanding Musical
Once - Produced by New York Theatre Workshop; Book by Enda Walsh, Music and Lyrics by Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová 

Queen of the Mist - Produced by Transport Group; Words and Music by Michael John LaChiusa 
SILENCE! The Musical - Produced by Victoria Lang, Rich Affannato, Donna Trinkoff in association with Scott Kirschenbaum, Theater Mogul, Kitefliers Studio, Terry Schnuck and John Arthur Pinckard; Music and Lyrics by Jon Kaplan and Al Kaplan, Book by Hunter Bell, Adapted from the screenplay Silence! The Musical by Jon and Al Kaplan

 The Blue Flower - Produced by Second Stage Theatre ; By Jim Bauer and Ruth Bauer  

The Shaggs: Philosophy of the World - Produced by Playwrights Horizons and New York Theatre Workshop; Book by Joy Gregory, Music by Gunnar Madsen, Lyrics by Joy Gregory and Gunnar Madsen, Story by Joy Gregory, Gunnar Madsen, and John Langs   

Outstanding Revival
Blood Knot - Produced by Signature Theatre; Written by Athol Fugard 

Edward Albee's The Lady from Dubuque - Produced by Signature Theatre; Written by Edward Albee 

Look Back in Anger - Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company; Written by John Osborne 

The Cherry Orchard - Produced by Classic Stage Company; Written by Anton Chekhov , Translated by John Christopher Jones

The Maids - Produced by Red Bull Theater; Written by Jean Genet, Translated by Bernard Frechtman   

Outstanding Solo Show
An Iliad - Produced by New York Theatre Workshop; Written by Denis O'Hare and Lisa Peterson;
Performed by Denis O'Hare and Stephen Spinella; Based on Homer's The Iliad translated by Robert Fagles  

The Devil's Music: The Life and Blues of Bessie Smith - Produced by Penguin Rep Theatre and Edmund Gaynes in association with Lizanne and Don Mitchell; Written by Angelo Parra; Performed by Miche

Outstanding Director
Jo Bonney, By the Way, Meet Vera Stark 
David Cromer, Tribes 
Sam Gold, Look Back in Anger Sam Gold, The Big Meal 
John Tiffany, Once   

Outstanding Choreographer
Chase Brock, The Blue Flower 
Bill Castellino, Ionescopade  
Christopher Gattelli, SILENCE! The Musical 
Steven Hoggett, Once 
Annie-­-B Parson, The Broken Heart 

Outstanding Lead Actor
Santino Fontana, Sons of the Prophet  

Russell Harvard, Tribes  
Hamish Linklater, The School For Lies 
Jefferson Mays, Blood and Gifts  
Jay O. Sanders, Titus Andronicus 

Outstanding Lead Actress
Sanaa Lathan, By the Way, Meet Vera Stark 

Cristin Milioti, Once  
Carey Mulligan, Through a Glass Darkly  
Molly Ranson, Carrie  
Mary Testa, Queen of the Mist  

Outstanding Featured Actor
David Wilson Barnes, The Big Meal 
Adam Driver, Look Back in Anger 
Alvin Epstein, The Cherry Orchard  
Peter Francis James, Edward Albee's The Lady from Dubuque 
Jeff Perry, Tribes   

Outstanding Featured Actress 
Anita Gillette, The Big Meal 
Kimberly Hébert Gregory, By the Way, Meet Vera Stark  
Marin Mazzie, Carrie 
Tonya Pinkins, Milk Like Sugar
Mare Winningham, Tribes   

Outstanding Scenic Design 
Bob Crowley, Once 
Lauren Helpern, 4000 Miles 
Andrew Lieberman, Look Back in Anger  
Adrianne Lobel, Galileo  
David Zinn, The Select (The Sun Also Rises)   

Outstanding Costume Design
ESosa, By the Way, Meet Vera Stark  

Toni-­-Leslie James, Milk Like Sugar  
William Ivey Long, The School For Lies  
Ilona Somogyi, Maple and Vine  
Catherine Zuber, Death Takes a Holiday   

Outstanding Lighting Design
Natasha Katz , Once  

Keith Parham, Tribes 
Justin Townsend, Unnatural Acts 
David Weiner, Through a Glass Darkly  
Scott Zielinski, An Iliad  

Outstanding Sound Design
Mark Bennett, An Iliad  
Clive Goodwin, Once  
Daniel Kluger, Tribes 
Matt Tierney and Ben Williams, The Select (The Sun Also Rises)  
David Van Tieghem, Through a Glass Darkly