The Lucille Lortel Awards announced today the details for the 25th Anniversary Lortel Awards Reception & Ceremony. The Awards Reception will be held on May 2, 2010 at 6 PM EST with the Ceremony beginning at 8 PM EST at Terminal 5, 610 West 56th Street, between 11th & 12th Avenues.  Members of the industry may purchase tickets through the Off-Broadway League while members of the public wishing to watch the show can purchase tickets at or via phone 212-279-4200.


The theme of the ceremony is “Off-Broadway Comes Home” and the show, directed by Michael Heitzman with musical direction by David Holcenberg, will feature performances highlighting the best of Off-Broadway in the last 25 years;  in addition, special curated exhibition spanning these years will be on display. The Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the Off-Broadway League by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation.  The Lortel Awards are a benefit for The Actors Fund.  Additional support provided by Theatre Development Fund. Support also provided by Inside Park at St. Bart’s, Ferrari and MontGras.


This year’s Co-Hosts are the hilarious duo, Bebe Neuwirth and Bryan Batt.  They will be joined on stage by notable presenters from the entertainment industry, including Kerry Washington, Anthony Mackie, Saffron Burrows, Justin Bartha, Hugh Dancy, Jennifer Morrison, Michael Urie, Laurie Metcalf, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Anthony LaPaglia, Zoe Kazan, Tamara Tunie, Stephanie March, Ally Sheedy, Lily Rabe, Rosie Perez, Patrick Heusinger, Keith Carradine, Aasif Mandvi, Jennifer Laura Thompson, Julie Halston, Charles Busch, Tom Jones, Michael Esper among other luminaries of stage, screen and film.  Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, Daryl Roth and Outstanding Body of Work recipient Lincoln Center Theater will be honored during the ceremony for their contribution to Off-Broadway.

2010 Nominations by Category

Outstanding Play

Clybourne Park; Written by Bruce Norris; Produced by Playwrights Horizons
The Brother/Sister Plays; Written by Tarell Alvin McCraney; Produced by The Public Theater in association with McCarter Theatre 

The Orphans' Home Cycle; Written by Horton Foote; Produced by Signature Theatre Company and Hartford Stage 

The Temperamentals; Written by Jon Marans; Produced by Daryl Roth, Stacy Shane and Martian Entertainment

When The Rain Stops Falling; Written by Andrew Bovell; Produced by Lincoln Center Theater   

Outstanding Musical

Click, Clack, Moo; Book by Billy Aronson, Lyrics by Kevin Del Aguila, Music by Brad Alexander, Based on the book by Doreen Cronin with illustrations by Betsy Lewin; Produced by Theatreworks USA 

Everyday Rapture;Written by Dick Scanlan and Sherie Rene Scott; Produced by Second Stage Theatre
The Scottsboro Boys; Book by David Thompson, Lyrics and Music by John Kander and Fred Ebb; Produced by Vineyard Theatre  

The Toxic Avenger; Book and Lyrics by Joe DiPietro, Music and Lyrics by David Bryan, Based on Lloyd Kaufman's The Toxic Avenger; Produced by Jean Cheever and Tom Polum  

Yank! A WWII Love Story; Music by Joseph Zellnik, Book and Lyrics by David Zellnik; Produced by The York Theatre Company, Maren Berthelsen/Pamela Koslow/Stuart Wilk, Matt Schicker, Hugh Hayes, Jim Kierstead and Sondra Healy/Shidan Majidi

Outstanding Revival

A Lie of the Mind; Written by Sam Shepard; Produced by The New Group

Candida; Written by George Bernard Shaw; Produced by The Irish Repertory Theatre and Alexis Doyle

Measure for Measure; Written by William Shakespeare; Produced by Theatre for a New Audience

The Emperor Jones; Written by Eugene O'Neill; Produced by The Irish Repertory Theatre

The Glass Menagerie; Written by Tennessee Williams; Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company in association with Long Wharf Theatre

Outstanding Solo Show

A Boy and His Soul; Written and performed by Colman Domingo; Produced by Vineyard Theatre

Let Me Down Easy; Written and performed by Anna Deavere Smith; Produced by Second Stage Theatre

Nightingale; Written and performed by Lynn Redgrave; Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club

The Lady With All the Answers; Written by David Rambo, Performed by Judith Ivey; Produced by Cherry Lane Theatre

Zero Hour; Written and performed by Jim Brochu; Produced by Kurt Peterson and Edmund Gaynes, in association with The Peccadillo Theater Company

Outstanding Director 

Walter Bobbie, Venus in Fur  
David Cromer, When the Rain Stops Falling 
Gordon Edelstein, The Glass Menagerie 
Pam MacKinnon, Clybourne Park  
Joe Mantello, The Pride   

Outstanding Choreographer
Jeffry Denman, Yank! A WWII Love Story 
Ken Roberson, A Boy and His Soul  
Wendy Seyb, Click, Clack, Moo  
Wendy Seyb, The Toxic Avenger  
Susan Stroman, The Scottsboro Boys

Outstanding Lead Actor 
Hugh Dancy,The Pride 
Patch Darragh, The Glass Menagerie
Brandon Victor Dixon, The Scottsboro Boys 
John Douglas Thompson, The Emperor Jones 
Michael Urie, The Temperamentals   

Outstanding Lead Actress 
Nina Arianda, Venus in Fur  
Jayne Houdyshell, Coraline 
Judith Ivey, The Glass Menagerie  
Cristin Milioti, Stunning 
Sherie Rene Scott, Everyday Rapture   

Outstanding Featured Actor
Keith Carradine, A Lie of the Mind  
Adam James, The Pride  
David Pittu, Equivocation 
Jeremy Shamos, Clybourne Park  
C.J. Wilson, Happy Now?   

Outstanding Featured Actress
Tracee Chimo, Circle Mirror Transformation 
Mary Beth Hurt, When the Rain Stops Falling  
Laurie Metcalf, A Lie of the Mind 
Nancy Opel, The Toxic Avenger 
Andrea Riseborough, The Pride   

Outstanding Scenic Design 
David Korins, When the Rain Stops Falling  
David Korins, Why Torture is Wrong, and the People Who Love Them 
Derek McLane, A Lie of the Mind  
Michael Yeargan, The Glass Menagerie  
David Zinn, The Pride   

Outstanding Costume Design 
Miranda Hoffman, Stunning  
Martin Pakledinaz, The Glass Menagerie  
Clint Ramos, So Help Me God!  
Ilona Somogyi,Clybourne Park 
Anita Yavich, Venus in Fur   

Outstanding Lighting Design 
Mark Barton, Circle Mirror Transformation  
Paul Gallo, The Pride 
Peter Kaczorowski, The Brother/Sister Plays  
Tyler Micoleau, When the Rain Stops Falling  
Rui Rita, The Orphans' Home Cycle   

Outstanding Sound Design 
Kurt Fischer, The Toxic Avenger 
John Gromada, The Orphans' Home Cycle 
Fitz Patton, When the Rain Stops Falling  
Shane Rettig, A Lie of the Mind
Ryan Rumery and Christian Frederickson, The Emperor Jones      

Outstanding Body of Work
Lincoln Center Theater

Lifetime Achievement Award
Daryl Roth