THE LEAGUE OF OFF-BROADWAY THEATRES AND PRODUCERS has announced that THE 21st ANNUAL LUCILLE LORTEL AWARDS FOR OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT OFF-BROADWAY were presented on Monday, May 1st at New World Stages (formerly Dodger Stages, 340 West 50th Street) at 7 PM. A celebration followed at Ruth’s Chris Steak House (148 West 51st Street).

The 2006 Lucille Lortel Awards nominating/voting committee was appointed by the League of Off-Broadway Theatres & Producers, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, Actors’ Equity Association, Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers, and also includes journalists, educators, and other artistic contributors to Off-Broadway.

Among the Presenters Were the Cast of Altar Boyz, Andre Bishop, Dominic Chianese (“The Sopranos”), Margaret Colin (“Chicago Hope”), Veanne Cox, Michael Cumpsty, Josh Hamilton, Doug Hughes, Carol Kane, Stephen Lang, Craig Lucas, Wendie Malick (“Just Shoot Me”), Logan Marshall-Green (“The OC”), Mark Moses (“Desperate Housewives”), Bebe Neuwirth, Keith Nobbs, Paul Rudd (Three Days of Rain), Daniel Sunjata (“Rescue Me”), and David Zayas (“OZ”) & Liza Colon-Zayas, among others.

Awarded since 1986, the Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the League by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

Additional support was provided by Theatre Development Fund. Major Sponsors: Ruth’s Chris Steak House, Ketel One Vodka, Pepper Bridge Winery, HX Magazine, andDiscover Card; Additional Sponsors: Broadway World, TheMenEvent.Com, HotNYCDeals. 

2006 Nominations by Category

Outstanding Play
The Lieutenant of Inishmore; written by Martin McDonagh; produced by Atlantic Theater Company 

The Paris Letter; written by Jon Robin Baitz; produced by Roundabout Theatre Company  
Red Light Winter; written by Adam Rapp; produced by Scott Rudin/Paramount Pictures, Robyn Goodman, Roger Berlind, and Stuart Thompson  
The Ruby Sunrise; written by Rinne Groff; produced by The Public Theater   

Outstanding Musical
Bernarda Alba; Words & Music by Michael John LaChiusa; produced by Lincoln Center Theater  
Grey Gardens; Book by Doug Wright, Music by Scott Frankel, Lyrics by Michael Korie; produced by Playwrights Horizons  
See What I Wanna See; Words & Music by Michael John LaChiusa; produced by The Public Theater  
The Seven; by Will Power; produced by New York Theatre Workshop      

Outstanding Revival
Abigail’s Party; written by Mike Leigh; produced by The New Group
Celebration and The Room; written by Harold Pinter; produced by Atlantic Theater Company
Funnyhouse of a Negro; written by Adrienne Kennedy; produced by The Classical Theatre of Harlem
Mrs. Warren’s Profession; written by George Bernard Shaw; produced by Irish Repertory Theatre
The Trip to Bountiful; written by Horton Foote; produced by Signature Theatre Company   

Outstanding Director 
Billie Allen, Funnyhouse of a Negro  
Scott Elliott, Abigail’s Party 
Scott Ellis, The Little Dog Laughed  
Wilson Milam, The Lieutenant of Inishmore  
Harris Yulin, The Trip to Bountiful   

Outstanding Choreographer
Michael Berresse, [title of show]  
Graciela Daniele, Bernarda Alba  
Bill T. Jones, The Seven   

Outstanding Lead Actor 
Christopher Denham, Red Light Winter 
Conor Donovan, Privilege  
John Glover, The Paris Letter 
Michael Stuhlbarg, Measure for Pleasure  
David Wilmot, The Lieutenant of Inishmore   

Outstanding Lead Actress 
Jennifer Jason Leigh, Abigail's Party  
S. Epatha Merkerson, Birdie Blue 
Lois Smith, The Trip to Bountiful  
Julie White, The Little Dog Laughed 
Dianne Wiest, Third   

Outstanding Featured Actor 
Charles Durning, Third  
Domhnall Gleeson, The Lieutenant of Inishmore  
Darren Goldstein, Abigail's Party 
Logan Marshall-Green, Dog Sees God  
David Pittu, Celebration and The Room   
Outstanding Featured Actress
Meghan Andrews, The Trip to Bountiful 
Helena Carroll, Philadelphia, Here I Come!  
Lisa Emery, Abigail's Party 
Hallie Foote, The Trip to Bountiful  
Mary Louise Wilson, Grey Gardens   

Outstanding Scenic Design 
Beowulf Boritt, The Other Side  
David Korins, Swimming in the Shallows 
Eugene Lee, The Ruby Sunrise 
Derek McLane, Abigail's Party  
Allen Moyer, Grey Gardens   

Outstanding Costume Design 
Eric Becker, Abigail's Party  
William Ivey Long, Grey Gardens  
Deborah Newhall, The Ruby Sunrise  
Martin Pakledinaz, The Trip to Bountiful 
Anita Yavich, The Wooden Breeks   

Outstanding Lighting Design 
Aaron Black, Funnyhouse of a Negro  
Jane Cox, Apparition 
John McKernon, The Trip to Bountiful  
Stephen Strawbridge, Bernarda Alba  
David Weiner, The Seven   

Outstanding Sound Design 
Scott Killian, A Picasso  
Brian Ronan, Grey Gardens 
Ken Travis, Abigail's Party  
Darron L West, Apparition
Darron L West, The Seven      

Lifetime Achievement Award Wendy Wasserstein   

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee John Patrick Shanley  
Outstanding Body of WorkAtlantic Theater Company  
Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence Betty Corwin