The League Of Off-Broadway Theatres And Producers is proud to announce the THE 20TH ANNUAL LUCILLE LORTEL AWARDS FOR OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT OFF-BROADWAY, which were presented on Monday, May 2nd at Dodger Stages (340 West 50th Street). The evening was dedicated to the memory of NY Times writer Mel Gussow, who passed away recently, after a distinguished career.

This year marked the 20th anniversary of The Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway, created in 1985 by resolution of The League of Off-Broadway Theatres & Producers, to recognize outstanding achievement on Off-Broadway stages.

At the celebration this year were performances by the nominees for Outstanding Musical, as well as commemorations of the milestone year.  

Outstanding Play
After Ashley; written by Gina Gionfriddo; produced by Vineyard Theatre 

Doubt; written by John Patrick Shanley; produced by Manhattan Theatre Club  

Going to St. Ives; written by Lee Blessing; produced by Primary Stages
Intimate Apparel; written by Lynn Nottage; produced by Roundabout Theatre Company  

Orson’s Shadow; written by Austin Pendleton; produced by PlanetEarth Partners and Scott Morfee   

Outstanding Musical
Altar Boyz; Book by Kevin Del Aguila, Music & Lyrics by Gary Adler and Michael Patrick Walker, Conceived by Ken Davenport & Marc Kessler ; produced by Ken Davenport and Robyn Goodman, in association with Walt Grossman, Ruth Hendel, Sharon Karmazin, Matt Murphy and Mark Shacket  

Junie B. Jones; Book and Lyrics by Marcy Heisler, Music by Zina Goldrich; produced by TheatreworksUSA  
Lone Star Love; music by Eric Rockwell, Conceived and Adapted by John L. Haber, Music and Lyrics by Jack Herrick; produced by Amas Musical Theatre

The 25 Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee; Music and Lyrics by William Finn, Book by Rachel Sheinkin, Conceived by Rebecca Feldman; produced by Second Stage Theatre   

Outstanding Solo Show
Nine Parts of Desire; Starring and Written by Heather Raffo, produced by Manhattan Ensemble Theater 

The Two and Only; Starring and Written by Jay Johnson; produced by Atlantic Theater Company in association with Roger Alan Gindi, Stewart F. Lane & Bonnie Conley, Dan Whitten, Herbert Goldsmith Productions, WetRock Entertainment   

Outstanding Revival
Counsellor-At-Law; written by Elmer Rice; produced by Peccadillo Theater Company

Engaged; written by W. S. Gilbert; produced by Theatre for A New Audience

Finian’s Rainbow; Book by E.Y. Harburg and Fred Saidy, Music by Burton Lane, Lyrics by E.Y. Harburg; produced by Irish Repertory Theatre

Hedda Gabler; written by Henrik Ibsen, Translation by Christopher Hampton; produced by New York Theatre Workshop

Hurlyburly; written by David Rabe; produced by The New Group

Outstanding Director 
Jo Bonney; Fat Pig  
Scott Elliott; Hurlyburly 
Doug Hughes; Doubt  
James Lapine; The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee  
Daniel Sullivan; Intimate Apparel   

Outstanding Choreographer
Christopher Gattelli; Altar Boyz  

Devanand Janki; Junie B. Jones  
Dan Knechtges; The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Barry McNabb; Finian’s Rainbow
Randy Skinner; Lone Star Love   

Outstanding Lead Actor 
Larry Bryggman; Romance 
Ethan Hawke; Hurlyburly  
Brían F. O’Byrne; Doubt  
John Rubinstein; Counsellor-At-Law  
Jeffrey Wright; This Is How It Goes   

Outstanding Lead Actress 
Ashlie Atkinson; Fat Pig  
Viola Davis; Intimate Apparel  
Cherry Jones; Doubt  
Judy Kaye; Souvenir 
Elizabeth Marvel; Hedda Gabler   

Outstanding Featured Actor 
Kevin Cahoon; The Foreigner  
Dan Fogler; The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee  
Josh Hamilton; Hurlyburly 
Logan Marshall-Green; The Distance From Here  
Tyler Maynard; Altar Boyz   

Outstanding Featured Actress 
Jenn Harris; Modern Orthodox  
Adriane Lenox; Doubt  

Alison Pill; On the Mountain 
Parker Posey; Hurlyburly  
Jennifer Simard; Forbidden Broadway: SVU   

Outstanding Scenic Design 
Julian Crouch & Graeme Gilmour; Shockheaded Peter  
Antje Ellermann; Nine Parts of Desire 
Derek McLane; Intimate Apparel  
Neil Patel; Between Us  
Jan Versweyved; Hedda Gabler

Outstanding Costume Design 
Alvin Colt; Forbidden Broadway: SVU  
Anna Hannikainen; Slava’s Snowshow  
Kevin Pollard; Shockheaded Peter  
Anita Yavich; Švejk 
Catherine Zuber; Intimate Apparel   

Outstanding Lighting Design 
Christopher Akerlind; Belle Epoque  
Jules Fisher & Peggy Eisenhauer; Dessa Rose 
Jon Linstrum; Shockheaded Peter  
James Vermeulen; Mr. Fox: A Rumination  
David Weiner; Rodney’s Wife   

Outstanding Sound Design 
Obadiah Eaves; Nine Parts of Desire  
Scott Lehrer; Dessa Rose 
Simon Matthews; Altar Boyz  
Darron L West; Hot ‘n’ Throbbing
Darron L West; The Last Days of Judas Iscariot   

Outstanding Body of Work The Irish Repertory Theatre   

Edith Oliver Award for Sustained ExcellenceFrances Sternhagen