THE LEAGUE OF OFF-BROADWAY THEATRES AND PRODUCERS has announced that THE 19TH ANNUAL LUCILLE LORTEL AWARDS FOR OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT OFF-BROADWAY will be presented on Monday, May 3rd at the Minetta Lane Theatre (18 Minetta Lane) at 7 PM. A celebration will follow at Eugene (27 West 24th Street).

The nominations will be announced April 6th. A cocktail reception to congratulate all of the nominees will be held on April 19th at Ruth’s Chris Steak House (148 West 51st Street). 

2004 Nominations by Category

Outstanding Play
Bug; written by Tracy Letts; produced by Scott Morfee, Amy Danis, and Mark Johannes, in association with PlanetEarth Partners  

Frozen; written by Bryony Lavery; produced by MCC Theater  

The Long Christmas Ride Home; written by Paula Vogel; produced by Vineyard Theatre  

Small Tragedy; written by Craig Lucas; produced by Playwrights Horizons  

Valhalla; written by Paul Rudnick; produced by New York Theatre Workshop   

Outstanding Musical
Caroline, or Change; book and lyrics by Tony Kushner, music by Jeanine Tesori; produced by The Public Theater  

Johnny Guitar; lyrics by Joel Higgins, music by Martin Silvestri, book by Nicholas van Hoogstraten; produced by Definite Maybe Productions and Mark Kress, in association with Victoria Lang & Pier Paolo Piccoli and The Century Center for the Performing Arts  

The Musical of Musicals--The Musical!; music by Eric Rockwell, lyrics by Joanne Bogart, book by Eric Rockwell and Joanne Bogart; produced by York Theatre Company   

Outstanding Solo Show
I Am My Own Wife; starring Jefferson Mays; written by Doug Wright, produced by Playwrights Horizons  

Sarah Jones: bridge & tunnel; starring and written by Sarah Jones; produced by Meryl Streep and The Culture Project, in association with Robert Dragotta, Jayson Jackson, Michael Alden, Eric Falkenstein, Marcia Roberts, Jean Kennedy Smith, and Tom Wirtshafter  

Women On Fire; starring Judith Ivey; written by Irene O’Garden, produced by Cherry Lane Theatre   

Outstanding Director 
Christopher Ashley; Valhalla  
Mark Brokaw; The Long Christmas Ride Home 
Dexter Bullard; Bug  
Doug Hughes; Frozen  
Moisés Kaufman; I Am My Own Wife   

Outstanding Choreographer
Hope Clarke; Caroline, or Change
Daniel Pelzig; Valhalla  
Martín Santangelo; Noche Flamenca   

Outstanding Lead Actor 
Peter Frechette; Valhalla 
Brian F. O'Byrne; Frozen  
Lee Pace; Small Tragedy  
Michael Shannon; Bug  
Richard Thomas; The Stendhal Syndrome   

Outstanding Lead Actress 
Lisa Emery; Iron  
Jayne Houdyshell; Well  
Swoosie Kurtz; Frozen  
Zilah Mendoza; Living Out 
Tonya Pinkins; Caroline, or Change   

Outstanding Featured Actor 
Rob Campbell; Small Tragedy  
Daniel Eric Gold; Small Tragedy  
Gordon MacDonald; Trumbo 
Will McCormack The Long Christmas Ride Home  
Mark Rosenthal; The Moonlight Room   

Outstanding Featured Actress 
Liza Colón-Zayas; Living Out  
Kathryn Layng; The Moonlight Room  
Laila Robins; Frozen 
Anika Noni Rose; Caroline, or Change  
Margaret Welsh; Big Bill   

Outstanding Scenic Design 
Scott Bradley; The Notebooks of Leonardo Da Vinci  
Tim Hatley; Humble Boy 
Derek McLane; I Am My Own Wife  
Ajene D. Washington; American Menu   

Outstanding Costume Design 
Linda Cho; The Two Noble Kinsmen  
William Ivey Long; Valhalla  
Paul Tazewell; Caroline, or Change  
Kaye Voyce; Johnny Guitar 
Catherine Zuber; The Beard of Avon   

Outstanding Lighting Design 
Christopher Akerlind; Well  
David Lander; I Am My Own Wife 
Tyler Micoleau; Bug  
Kenneth Posner; Valhalla  
Clifton Taylor; Frozen   

Outstanding Sound Design 
John Gromada; Small Tragedy  
Robert Kaplowitz; The Story 
Brian Ronan; Bug  
David Van Tieghem; The Long Christmas Ride Home  


Unique Theatrical Experience Noche Flamenca   

Outstanding Body of Work Public Theatre   

Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence Kathleen Chalfant   

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee(s)Tony Kushner