The League of Off-Broadway Theaters & Producers today announced the recipients for the 17th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway, which will be held on Monday, May 6th at the Lucille Lortel Theatre (121 Christopher Street) at 7 PM. A reception will follow at Bryant Park Grill (25 West 40th Street). Susan Sarandon and Tim Robbins, who will be appearing at the Flea Theatre in THE GUYS (May 1 through May 8), will serve as hosts.  Among the presenters (confirmed at this time) are Bobby Canavalle (”100 Centre Street,” “Ally McBeal,” “Third Watch”) and Mercedes Ruehl. 

The Lucille Lortel Awards 2002 nominating/voting committee includes representatives of the Off-Broadway League, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, Actors’ Equity Association, Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers, journalists, educators, and other artistic contributors to Off-Broadway.

The League of Off-Broadway Theatres and Producers created these Awards in recognition of Lucille Lortel’s tireless devotion to Off-Broadway. Awarded annually since 1986, the Lortel Awards are produced by the League in association with the Lucille Lortel Foundation.  Additional support is provided by Theatre Development Fund.

Outstanding Play of 2002

The Carpetbagger’s Children by Horton Foote (Lincoln Center Theater)

The Dazzle by Richard Greenberg (Roundabout Theatre Company)

Homebody/Kabul by Tony Kushner (New York Theatre Workshop)

Metamorphoses by Mary Zimmerman (Second Stage Theatre)

The Shape of Things by Neil LaBute (Susan Quint Gallin, Sandy Gallin, Stuart Thompson, 

Ben Sprecher, USA/OSTAR Theatricals)


Outstanding Musical of 2002

Dragapella! by The Kinsey Sicks with original music and lyrics by Ben Schatz (Ben Schatz,

Irwin Keller, Maurice Kelly, Chris Dilley, in association with Maria DiDia,

Executive Producer)

The Last 5 Years by Jason Robert Brown (Arielle Tepper, Marty Bell in association with

Libby Adler Mages/Mari Glick, Rose/Land Productions)

tick, tick… BOOM! book, music and lyrics by Jonathan Larson (Victoria Leacock, Robyn

Goodman, and Dede Harris, Lorie Cowen Levy, Beth Smith)

Urinetown music and lyrics by Mark Hollmann, book and lyrics by Greg Kotis (The

Araca Group and Dodger Theatricals, in association with

TheaterDreams Inc. and Lauren Mitchell)


Outstanding Revival of 2002

Crimes of the Heart by Beth Henley (Second Stage Theatre)

Cymbeline  by William Shakespeare (Theatre for a New Audience)

Hobson’s Choice  by Harold Brighouse (Atlantic Theatre Company)

Pirates of Penzance by W.S. Gilbert & Arthur Sullivan, adapted by Michael Scheman and      

Steven Gross (On Deck Entertainment, Brett Singer & Diane Krausz)


Outstanding Director of 2002

John Rando (Urinetown)

Bartlett Sher (Cymbeline)

Mark Wing-Davey (36 Views)

Mary Zimmerman (Metamorphoses)


Outstanding Choreographer of 2002

John Carrafa (Urinetown)

Tony Parise (Pirates of Penzance)

Tony Stevens (The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged))


Outstanding Actor of 2002

Norbert Leo Butz (The Last 5 Years)

Hunter Foster (Urinetown)

Peter Frechette (The Dazzle)

Reg Rogers (The Dazzle)

Jeffrey Wright (Topdog/Underdog)

Outstanding Actress of 2002

Ruby Dee (Saint Lucy’s Eyes)

Linda Emond (Homebody/Kabul)

Martha Plimpton (Hobson’s Choice)

Phylicia Rashad (Blue)

Elaine Stritch (Elaine Stritch At Liberty)


Outstanding Featured Actor of 2002

David Aaron Baker (Hobson’s Choice)

Keith Nobbs (Four )

Andrew Weems (Cymbeline)

Frederick Weller (The Shape of Things)

Isiah Whitlock, Jr. (Four)


Outstanding Featured Actress of 2002

Spencer Kayden (Urinetown)

Gretchen Mol (The Shape of Things)

Amy Sedaris (Wonder of The World)

Robin Weigert (Madame Melville)

Kathleen Widdoes (Franny’s Way)


Outstanding Scenic Design of 2002

David Gallo (Wonder of the World)

Allen Moyer (The Dazzle)

Daniel Ostling (Metamorphoses)

Scott Pask (Urinetown)

Douglas Stein (36 Views)


Outstanding Costume Design of 2002

Jonathan Bixby and Gregory Gale (Urinetown)

Mara Blumenfeld (Metamorphoses)

Susan Hilferty and Linda Ross (Franny’s Way)

Bob Miller and Steven Howard (Dragapella!)

Elizabeth Caitlin Ward (Cymbeline)


Outstanding Lighting Design of 2002

TJ Gerckens (Metamorphoses)

Traci Klainer (Four)

Brian MacDevitt (Urinetown)

David Weiner (36 Views)

Outstanding Sound Design of 2002

Brett Jarvis and David A. Gilman (Brutal Imagination)

Scott Lehrer (Franny’s Way)

Andre Pluess and Ben Sussman (Metamorphoses)

Dan Moses Schreier (Homebody/Kabul)


Outstanding Body of Work of 2002

Second Stage Theatre


Unique Theatrical Experience of 2002

Elaine Stritch At Liberty


Outstanding Lifetime Achievement 2002 

Edward Albee


The 2002 Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence

Ruby Dee


2002 Inductee Playwrights Sidewalk

Romulus Linney



Metamorphoses (3)

Cymbeline  (2)

Franny’s Way (2)

Urinetown (2)